1426 N Quincy St
Arlington, VA 22207
Thursday, July 24, 2014

Library Services

Child reading Book Lists

American Library Association Award-Winners:

Association for Library Service to Children - ALSC

  • Caldecott Medal Caldecott – The (Randolph) Caldecott Medal is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

  • Coretta Scott King Award Coretta Scott King - The Coretta Scott KIng Award is given to African American authors and illustrators for outstanding, inspirational, and educational contributions, these titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples.

  • Newbery Award Newbery - The (John) Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

  • Theodore Geisel Award Geisel - The (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Award is given to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers.

  • Pura Belpré Award Pura Belpré - The Pura Belpré Award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of children’s literature.

  • Laura Ingalls Wilder Award Wilder - The (Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

  • Notabale Children's Books Notable Children’s Books - "Each year a committee of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children's books .  .  . As applied to children's books, notable should be thought to include books of especially commendable quality, books that exhibit venturesome creativity, and books of fiction, information, poetry and pictures for all age levels (birth through age 14) that reflect and encourage children's interests in exemplary ways."

Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA):

  • edwards award Margaret A. Edwards Award - The Margaret A. Edwards Award, established in 1988, honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

  • Alex award Alex Award The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

  • morris award Morris Award - The William C. Morris YA Debut Award, first awarded in 2009, honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

  • printz award Printz  Award The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.

Virginia Readers’ Choice

Virginia Readers' Choice Logo Each year the Virginia State Reading Association chooses 10 books on each of 4 different levels (K-3/3-5/6-8/9-12) for students to read.  When they have finished, students vote on their favorite title and at year’s end one state-wide winner for each level is announced.

Capital Choices A list of recommendations by librarians, teachers, booksellers, children's literature specialists, and magazine editors in the Washington, D.C. area.

Thanks to Lauren Regan, former Librarian at Science Focus Elementary School and
Julie Esanu from Oakridge Elementary School for compiling this list of websites.

Website Support:
If you have a question or need assistance, please email janet.green@apsva.us
This page contains links to one or more websites that are outside of the Arlington Public Schools network. APS does not control the content or relevancy of these links.